A few basic questions from a new user...

simur612

May 25, 2018
Hi.

The forum looks good, and seems to be just what I need, so thanks in advance for your time and assistance.

I've never used a seedbox before and I'm looking at using http://getaseedbox.com as my provider because they seem to offer very competitive deals. They also use Rutorrent as their torrent client, and their FAQ section sent me here. I haven't signed up yet and, before I do, I'd like to understand what's going on. I don't know about these questions, so forgive me if they don't make much sense and/or appear rather basic - I just really don't know much on what I'm talking about.

I'm pretty clued up on utorrent as I've been using it on my own PCs for years, but a few things that happened recently, along with the ongoing ratio battle, have made me look for a more secure, and faster torrent host. On a home PC I'm pretty handy, but dealing with VPN's and seedboxes is a new thing for me so if you could help me out with just a few things to get started, I'd greatly appreciate it.. Also, I'll possibily have a few other questions in the future, but I'll get to them when needed.

So, let's see..

I suppose as this is my first post here, it's also a kind of introduction as well, hence the extra jibber-jabber included.

Basically, for today, could you just tell me how I get files to and from Rutorrent/my seedbox & my pc? Is it done with an FTP program or is it as simple as clicking a few links or??

Thanks again for your help.

saroos1

May 25, 2018
it depends on how the server is set up but the standard method is via ftp or sftp.

Some providers also set up http download links.

do yourself a favor...ifyou can afford it, get a small dedi...which country do you live in?

simur612

May 25, 2018
Thanks.

Australia.