Need your suggestion regarding multi-user installation alternatives

dsouvik215

May 25, 2018
Hello people,

In 5 or 6 days, i'll be leaving my seedbox provider and will get myself a VPS. I've read a lot of stuff here and found nice scripts that i'm sure will be helpful as i'm not an expert on this kind of stuff.
The VPS will be a 250GB one with 3GB RAM and i would like to share 100GB with another friend/user. So, question: whats the best way to "safely" (you'll understand what i mean) do that? I already tutorials about this and i know i have several ways to do it, so please don't ask me to search tongue.gif... What i really need to know is if its possible to give that second user a certain amount of HDD and how many RAM he will have. I know i can do this with unix commands for a given user, but how is it made on a multi-client ruTorrent? Also, how can i determine the permissions for that user (here's the safety part)? I know how to this via unix commands, but how is it managed on multi client ruTorrent? I only want him to save torrents on a specific directory (he can then add sub dirs) and download files from that dir only - don't want him to mess with my scripts and all that... Also, i've seen somewhere that i can add multi-users with other different IPS...well, my VPS will have 2 IPS - is that helpful?

Please, let me know you're feedback! smiley.gif

das329717

May 25, 2018
I wouldnt' use a VPS If you can get a dedi.

If you MUST use a vps, it would depends on the VPS software. For instance: a XEN based VPS is going to behave VERY different than am openvz based VPS.

Either way, it's going to be somewhat more difficult to share an exact amount with a friend. If you don't mind sharing and not putting a limit on your friend, it will be WAY easier.

dsouvik215

May 25, 2018
Thanks for the reply.