Adding a seed

dsouvik215

May 25, 2018
Hi guys. I'm new to the whole seedbox thing but I've been using torrents for years.

My plan is to download a file off a public tracker and then help seed it on a private one.

I've managed to download the file off the public tracker, that was easy enough. Now I want to add a seed to the torrent on the private tracker. Usually in uTorrent I'd do this by downloading the .torrent and then point it to the directory where the data is located. Then uTorrent would check it and voila, all is well.

But, when I add the torrent to ruTorrent it just starts downloading even though I aleady have the file undecided.gif

Can anyone help me? I'm running ruTorrent v3.0

Thanks

das329717

May 25, 2018
Are you sure it's downloading and not hash checking?

Make sure your download directory is correct so rtorrent finds your old download from the public tracker.
Also verify that the torrent files are the same. It's possible that the public tracker's torrent data is unpacked but the private tracker's data is in rar format.

dsouvik215

May 25, 2018
Hi brock, thanks for the reply.

Yeah I'm sure it starts downloading because the download speed and the done percentage increases. I'm also sure the files are the same because they are the same scene release and I can add a seed from my home computer by using the same source.

The FTP directory has 3 files: autoadd, done and downloading. It seems that I can't choose where the file must be downladed to. This is what it looks like when adding a torrent.

I think (yes this is pretty self explanitory) that you drag things into the autoadd for them to automatically start downloading, the downloading file is for uncompleted DLs and the done file is for everything that is done.