customizing watch folders in rtorrent

lisas4567

May 25, 2018
I realize this is more an rtorrent issue than an rutorrent issue but from reading through these boards, people here seem like they would know the answer.

I have been trying to figure out how to set up watch folders but all the info I find simply points to the example given here which doesn't tell me anything about what those settings actually mean. What are the numbers for? do they have to be set at 10? Is it possible to set up a watch folder so that it will load the torrent but not start it, so I can click on it in rutorrent and edit things that need editing before starting it (like download path and specific files to ignore for example)?

I am brand new to Linux but when doing stuff like this, I like to learn what it is I'm doing so that next time I can apply some of what I've learned rather than just constantly asking and copying what others have done. Thanks for any help.

Desiree

simur612

May 25, 2018
perhaps you should look into using the autowatch part of auto-tools.

It can be made to work with multi-level directories

for more info, search the forums on autotools

your link didn't work for me...they do not have to be set to 10, i think that's the minutes

lisas4567

May 25, 2018
ok, I installed the auottools plugin but so far nothing seems to be working. I checked the box to anable autowatch features and set the directory to watch as /volume1/downloads/torrents and left unchecked the start automatically button as my whole purpose here is to get torrents to load but not start downloading. I have downloaded some .torrent files to my watch directory but nothing happens. what am I missing?

lisas4567

May 25, 2018
do you have your command line php set up properly in rutorrent settings?
[feeling very stupid now]
I don't even know what that is