Error help please

shwetha17

May 24, 2018
Hmm,
So I have this homemade seedbox that a friend made for me on a VPS and he installed rtorrent and rutorrent on it for me to use(Ubuntu 10.04 is installed on the VPS). Now unfortunately something has screwed up and I cant access my seedbox via safari anymore and I get this error message from rutorrent:
[22.12.2010 20:36:23] WebUI started.
[22.12.2010 20:36:23] Bad response from server: (502 [error,getplugins]) <html>
<head><title>502 Bad Gateway</title></head>
<body bgcolor="white">
<center><h1>502 Bad Gateway</h1></center>
<center>nginx/0.8.53</center>
</body>
</html>
[22.12.2010 20:36:24] Bad response from server: (502 [error,getuisettings]) <html>
<head><title>502 Bad Gateway</title></head>
<body bgcolor="white">
<center><h1>502 Bad Gateway</h1></center>
<center>nginx/0.8.53</center>
</body>
</html>​

So if there is anyone that can help me with this, it would be much appreciated. I have little experience with linux and VPS's so you might need to spell everything out for me, or 'talk' really slowly so I can understand.

Thanks

Edit: I have tried restarting rtorrent and I have rebooted my VPS but nothing has changed. Still getting those error messages.
Also, I am still seeding all my torrents and I ma 100% connectable on all of my trackers so this is a problem with ruTorrent, not rtorrent.

Any help is appreciated---like where can I find out what Error 502 means?.

somus1735

May 25, 2018
502 is a bad gateway error, sounds like an scgi issue.
without more info noone will be able to help you.

need to see the .rtorrent.rc the webserver error logs, webserver configs, rutorrent/conf/ files and a possibly a list of plugins...it could be a number of things but start looking in the error logs.

Make sure rtorrent is running.

shwetha17

May 24, 2018
ok, thanks for the advice. I would post these error logs but I do not know the first step in locating them... haha